Philodendron ID

Get that mystery plant identified!
Forum rules
Please post one plant per topic. IAS members can upload photos. Non members may post in this forum, but will need to link to a photo hosted elsewhere.

Philodendron ID

Postby gottabeme22002 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:23 pm

Might anyone have a guess on this Philodendron? It has never bloomed for me. The leaves stay this same basic shape and never get larger than 8 or 9 inches in length, even growing several feet up a pole.

IMG-20110809-00226.jpg
IMG-20110809-00226.jpg (25.85 KiB) Viewed 2594 times
"My green thumb came only as a result of the mistakes I made while learning to see things from the plant's point of view." - H. Fred Dale
gottabeme22002
Leslie A. Rule

Re: Philodendron ID

Postby jasondsarine » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:00 pm

Hmm, im not exactly sure as I am a only a novice with philos. I love the leaf shape though. Im sure some of the philo nuts will chime in. Leland do you have a guess?
Jason Sarine
jasondsarine
IAS Moderator
Jason Sarine

Postby Leland » Sun Aug 14, 2011 12:37 pm

Dear Jason and Leslie,
Aloha.
Even so called Philodendron experts have trouble with identifications. Philodendron is a very large genus. I chose to study Philodendron subgenus Meconostigma, because it is a small group. Unfortunately, I cannot identify Leslie's plant from just the vegetative, sterile, photo. Some of these types of Philodendron change morphology over time and with higher light levels. The other issue is that many more hybrids are showing up.

Leslie, have you shown this photo to Russ? He may know and grow this plant.

Aloha,

Leland
Leland
Valued IAS Member
Leland Miyano

Postby gottabeme22002 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:50 am

Russ does have this plant. He doesn't know what it is either.
"My green thumb came only as a result of the mistakes I made while learning to see things from the plant's point of view." - H. Fred Dale
gottabeme22002
Leslie A. Rule

Postby mickpascall » Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:08 am