IAS Aroid Quasi Forum

About Aroid-L
 This is a continuously updated archive of the Aroid-L mailing list in a forum format - not an actual Forum. If you want to post, you will still need to register for the Aroid-L mailing list and send your postings by e-mail for moderation in the normal way.

Your copyright and your photographs!
From: Steve at ExoticRainforest.com (ExoticRainforest) on 2007.10.20 at 16:29:53(16562)
Most of you know I'm a retired commercial photographer. I received some mail this morning in which it was clear a lot of people don't understand the US Copyright laws regarding the photographs you take. I'd like to make sure you know.

The very moment you snap the shutter you have created a legal copyright. That is what the law states. Now, you need to do a couple of things to perfect your copyright if you ever plan to sue anyone for stealing your work. But you've created the copyright the moment you click that shutter!

If you don't perfect your copyright you cannot sue for legal fees. But you can sue for the theft of your work. It is in the law. I've won several Federal lawsuits against people who stole my work. And in one case, they didn't even use my photograph, they attempted to perfectly duplicate my photograph. They hired a photographer and three models and made only minor changes to my original work but the court ruled I still owned the copyright and they paid my original use fees, all costs, damages, lawyer's fees and were forced to take their ad campaign out of the magazines they were using. It would have been much cheaper to just pay my agent the original fee quoted!

So what do you need to do? You must file a copy of the photograph(s) you wish to perfect with the Library of Congress. You can get a form from the library. There is a small fee. You can include as many photos as you can get on a CD rom at one time and perfect them all at the same time. You also have to provide hard copies but they can be tiny and all printed on one page.