IAS Aroid Quasi Forum

About Aroid-L
 This is a continuously updated archive of the Aroid-L mailing list in a forum format - not an actual Forum. If you want to post, you will still need to register for the Aroid-L mailing list and send your postings by e-mail for moderation in the normal way.

Arum purpureospathum x Arum palaestinum
From: DAVID LEEDY <djleedy at sbcglobal.net> on 2013.06.19 at 20:39:27(22818)
Erin,

I am relatively new to the world of Arum, having started growing them in Fort Worth, Texas only two years ago (the coming growing season will be my third). However, when I lived in Los Angeles, CA, I grew about every aroid you can think of including a number of Arum.

First of all, you are not the only person in Northern California growing Arum purpureospathum!!! I know of several people growing that particular species there, not the least of which is the Botanical Gardens at the University of California at Berkley.

I belong to the Arisaema Enthusiasts Group, who have an annual exchange/distribution of seed. In the last two years, I have "planted" several hundred Arum seed and only had a dozen or so successes (seed germinate and leaf sprouted). So I am still learning, but intend to try again this Fall with seed from 10 - 15 different species.

I am told that the berry may incorporate some kind of anti-germination enzyme, so the seed must be cleaned as much as possible. The second thing I do know for sure is that the seed is going to germinate or not germinate at some time certain and with the exception of some species, there is little you can do about it. I am told that with Arum pictum (the botanists have decided that this is no longer an Arum, also I am told), may germinate at any time of the year given the right temperature and other conditions. I currently have two seedlings of A. pictum, Majorcan form, which have not yet gone dormant (although everything else has).