IAS Aroid Quasi Forum

About Aroid-L
 This is a continuously updated archive of the Aroid-L mailing list in a forum format - not an actual Forum. If you want to post, you will still need to register for the Aroid-L mailing list and send your postings by e-mail for moderation in the normal way.

Aroid Literature
From: edleigh7 at optusnet.com.au (edleigh) on 2007.11.07 at 08:40:32(16674)
G'day, I am fairly new to Aroid l, I have been reading posts and trying to take it all in to be honest. I haven't been into aroids for that long, but I am quite passionate about them. I've got the "bug" so to speak.
I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good all round book on aroids so I don't have to annoy people like Steve L for identification etc all the time. I don't trust a lot of the information on non scientific sites on the internet. Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards,

Ed & Leigh

+More
From: Steve at ExoticRainforest.com (ExoticRainforest) on 2007.11.10 at 17:59:04(16678)
Hey Ed! Don't worry about annoying me! I just take the photos and annoy everyone else on the list by asking them. That's how we all learn. There are some honest-to-goodness experts on this forum, in my opinion: world class. Me, I'm still very much a student. Besides, I have learned quite a bit by trying to help you track down some of your plants. But if you post them here you'll get those answers a lot quicker!

Steve Lucas

+More
From: aroidgrower at verizon.net (John Ludwig) on 2007.11.10 at 19:07:23(16682)
Aroids: Plants of the Arum Family
by Deni Brown second edition is an excellent book for general
information about the Araceae family of plants.

I have found that this book is available at a very reasonable price at
timber press or barnes and noble.

When it comes to information about specific species and genera I have
found the advice of those who are smarter and more knowledgeable than
myself to be invaluable, especially those who subscribe to this list!

+More