IAS Aroid Quasi Forum

About Aroid-L
 This is a continuously updated archive of the Aroid-L mailing list in a forum format - not an actual Forum. If you want to post, you will still need to register for the Aroid-L mailing list and send your postings by e-mail for moderation in the normal way.

Alocaisa gageana
From: "Barbara" <hcward416 at comcast.net> on 2009.08.06 at 21:27:37(19647)

I purchased a plant labeled as Alocasia gageana aurea variegata but think I read somewhere that aurea is not the proper name. I did a search on the Aroidean but did not find the correct name. I am a novice but would like to make sure the names are correct. I would appreciate any help.

Barbara

HTML

+More

From: Peter Boyce <phymatarum at googlemail.com> on 2009.08.09 at 01:58:01(19667)
HiBarbara

Thiswill be almost certainly Alocasia macrorrhizos in one of its numerous colourforms. Alocasia gageana was described from northern Burma and is an nom. dub.

Peter

HTML

+More

From: "Christopher Rogers" <CRogers at ecoanalysts.com> on 2009.08.09 at 19:39:55(19672)
Howdy, Pete!

I thought I had a handle on the large green, entire leaf margin Alocasia. My understanding was that A. gageana had a green erect spathe, leaf sinus reaching petiole; A. odora has a yellow erect spathe, and; A. macrorhiza had a reflexed yellow spathe, with the leaf sinus not reaching the petiole. I am not sure how A. robusta is separated out. So, I am surprised to hear that A. gageana is a nomen dubium. Can you help me out on separating these beasts?

Cheers,
Christopher

+More
From: Peter Boyce <phymatarum at googlemail.com> on 2009.08.10 at 06:52:58(19676)
Hi Christopher,

These trans-Himalayan large-leaved Alocasia are taxonomic beasts! I’ve
recently tackled the northern Thai species and this is the current status
for those that I investigated.

What you describe as gageana is almost certainly odora; also it is very
likely that gageana is a syn. of odora BUT the type (of gageana) is missing